New York Yankees confused over tagging call vs. Los Angeles Angels

New York Yankees confused over tagging call vs. Los Angeles Angels


ANAHEIM, Calif. — Confusion remained the predominant feeling for the New York Yankees late Friday night time as a number of nonetheless struggled to determine what occurred throughout a weird sequence in the midst of their sport in opposition to the Los Angeles Angels.

As Yankees first baseman Neil Walker‘s would-be three-run homer was denied to start out an inning-ending double play, they nonetheless escaped the play with a run. Later replays made some query whether or not they need to have been awarded it.

That run finally proved vital for the Yankees, too. A ninth-inning rally adopted by Didi Gregorius‘ homer within the 10th helped New York sneak previous the Angels, Four-Three.

“I wasn’t sure what was going on,” stated Yankees left fielder Giancarlo Stanton, one of many key gamers on the sequence in query. “It was one of those weird plays with the replay and all that.”

The unusual set of occasions occurred within the prime of the sixth inning when Walker was batting with runners at second and third and one out. Gregorius was at third after reaching on a leadoff bunt single. Stanton was at second base.

Two pitches into Walker’s at-bat, he jumped a Zero-1 fastball that appeared off the bat as if it had been going to be a house run.

Angels proper fielder Kole Calhoun had completely different plans. Calhoun, who earlier snared a hard-hit sinking line drive within the hole with a dive, leaped on the wall to seize the ball Walker hit. As his glove got here again over the wall with the ball in it, Calhoun turned and threw instantly to second base.

When shortstop Andrelton Simmons caught the throw again to the infield and stepped on second base, second base umpire Angel Hernandez dominated Stanton out. Stanton didn’t tag up at second and was subsequently out, the umpire dominated.

But replays confirmed that the runner did certainly tag across the identical second Calhoun caught the ball.

“I was pretty sure I tagged up,” Stanton stated. “At the moment and I thought it was at least close enough to take a look at it. I don’t know.”

In addition to the controversy over whether or not Stanton left the bottom early or not, there was additional intrigue about whether or not the out at second base had occurred previous to Gregorius stepping on dwelling plate. Gregorius, who additionally tagged up from third, may need crossed the plate a second after Simmons stepped on second.

Said Walker: “There was certainly some confusion there.”

The umpires’ ruling was that Gregorius had crossed in time, and thus scored by way of a sacrifice fly.

“I thought that was the case and so I was just kind focused on that, and when the home plate umpire said he definitely scored, then I shifted our attention,” Yankees supervisor Aaron Boone stated.

The Yankees took the lead 2-1 after the ruling.

Boone added that by the point he realized he may have challenged the veracity of the umpires’ declare that Stanton had not tagged up, he had run out of the time allotted to ask for a problem.

Per MLB guidelines, performs involving runners tagging from second base aren’t reviewable. However, Boone may have challenged the play on “boundary” guidelines for the reason that play started with an occasion on a boundary (the wall). The league’s overview workplace then may have reviewed the whole play and reversed any a part of it that was incorrect.

“I shouldn’t have waited on the challenge,” Boone stated. “It’s a boundary call. I could’ve gone [and said to the umpires], if I would’ve been ahead of it, ‘Boundary.’ They look at everything in that context.”



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *