Peru vs Denmark: Poulsen scores after Cueva's PK miss (LIVE)

Peru vs Denmark: Poulsen scores after Cueva’s PK miss (LIVE)

Peru will play its first World Cup match since 1982 when it opens Group C play in opposition to a proficient Denmark facet in Saransk, Russia.

Led by all-time main scorer and captain Paolo Guerrero, who was permitted to play after having a doping suspension was frozen, Peru escaped South America’s qualifying cauldron and reached Russia after an intercontinental playoff win over New Zealand. La Blanquirroja have not misplaced since November 2016–a span of 15 matches–and have solely conceded one purpose of their final seven matches.

They’ll need to cease a Denmark facet led by Tottenham playmaker Christian Eriksen, whose hat trick in a qualifying playoff vs. Ireland helped safe the Danes’ place on the World Cup.

Peru had an early penalty shout denied–and never checked by VAR–however continued to stress from the outset. Its finest early likelihood got here 5 minutes in, when Luis Advincula fired a speculative blast from distance, although he narrowly missed the body.

Orlando City’s Yoshimar Yotun adopted within the eighth minute with a strong shot from the sting of the realm, however he hit it proper into the intestine of Denmark goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel.

Peru saved peppering from lengthy distance, with Edison Flores following swimsuit within the 11th minute with an opportunity that whizzed over the crossbar.

Denmark discovered the going robust within the attacking finish, however almost broke by way of with a long-range bomb of its personal. New Borussia Dortmund signing Thomas Delaney had a go from 30 yards within the 26th minute, however, like Flores’s, it flew simply over the bar.

Peru lastly had an opportunity from shut vary, with Jefferson Farfan on the receiving finish of a by way of ball that put him on purpose. Simon Kjaer’s heroic slide deal with received sufficient of a contact on the possibility to place it out for a nook kick and hold Peru off the board.

Denamrk had a golden likelihood within the 39th minute, when it earned a foul simply outdoors the Peru field. Eriksen, a free kick specialist, had his likelihood hit proper into the wall, however the rebound fell proper to damage substitute Lasse Schone, who fired a low, bouncing drive at goalkeeper Pedro Gallese.

Just as halftime was set to hit, Peru was given an help by VAR. Christian Cueva had his path leg taken out within the field, and video replay confirmed as a lot, as a penalty was granted after a fast look. Cueva could not convert, although. He powered his penalty kick method over the bar, protecting the rating Zero-Zero.

Peru was left to rue that miss on the hour mark, when Denmark scored the breakthrough purpose. Eriksen lastly discovered himself in area on the counter assault, spreading the ball left to Yussuf Poulsen. The RB Leipzig ahead beat Gallese by the close to submit, giving Denmark a 1-Zero lead.

On the opposite finish, Schmeichel made a sensational save virtually instantly after, pawing away an opportunity that might’ve drawn Peru stage.

Guerrero got here off the bench after the purpose and almost made a direct influence. He had a transparent header kind the middle of the field within the 64th minute, however he directed it proper at Schmeichel, who made the clear catch.

Stay tuned right here for stay updates and highlights of objectives and key performs from all through the match (refresh for most up-to-date updates).

Here are the lineups for each side:

Here are the rosters for each groups:


Goalkeepers: Pedro Gallese (Veracruz), Carlos Caceda (Deportivo Municipal), Jose Carvallo (UTC)

Defenders: Aldo Corzo (Universitario), Luis Advincula (Lobos Buap), Christian Ramos (Veracruz), Miguel Araujo (Alianza Lima), Alberto Rodriguez (Atletico Junior), Anderson Santamaria (Puebla), Miguel Trauco (Flamengo), Nilson Loyola (Melgar)

Midfielders: Renato Tapia (Feyenoord), Pedro Aquino (Lobos Buap), Yoshimar Yotun (Orlando City), Paolo Hurtado (Vitoria Guimaraes), Christian Cueva (Sao Paulo), Edison Flores (Aalborg), Andy Polo (Portland Timbers), Wilder Cartagena (Veracruz)

Forwards: Andre Carrillo (Watford), Raul Ruidiaz (Morelia), Jefferson Farfan (Lokomotiv Moscow), Paolo Guerrero (Flamengo)

Manager: Ricardo Gareca


Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Jonas Lossl (Huddersfield), Frederik Ronow (Brondby)

Defenders: Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Simon Kjaer (Sevilla), Mathias Jorgensen (Huddersfield), Jannik Vestergaard (Borussia Monchengladbach), Henrik Dalsgaard (Brentford), Jens Stryger (Udinese), Jonas Knudsen (Ipswich)

Midfielders: Christian Eriksen (Tottenham), Lasse Schone (Ajax), Lukas Lerager (Bordeaux), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Deportivo La Coruna), William Kvist (FC Copenhagen), Thomas Delaney (Werder Bremen)

Forwards: Andreas Cornelius (Atalanta), Kasper Dolberg (Ajax), Martin Braithwaite (Bordeaux), Nicolai Jorgensen (Feyenoord), Pione Sisto (Celta Vigo), Viktor Fischer (FC Copenhagen), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig)

Manager: Age Hareide

Source link